Delo Tractor Restoration Competition

Find It! Fix It! Finish a Winner!

The 2017 Delo TRC is Officially Open!

Now in its 22nd year, the Delo Tractor Restoration Competition was established in 1995 to recognize and reward the creativity, technical aptitude and business knowledge of high school-aged students from around the country.

In addition to competing for recognition and the $10,000 Grand Champion prize, participants develop teamwork, project management, budget management, planning and marketing skills. These skills will enable them to become future leaders in the agriculture community.

Participating in the Chevron Delo Tractor Restoration Competition is fun, challenging and can be a life-changing experience. Not only will student teams restore an old tractor to its original (or almost original) luster, but you will also learn valuable life and business skills.

Participants of the 2017 Delo TRC will compete for fun and prizes:

  • Grand Champion Prize $10,000
  • Reserve Champion Prize $5,000
  • Third Place Prize $3,000
  • Other prizes and recognition for most video votes, best photo, best presentation

To learn more about the 2017 competition, go to 2017 competition.

Are you a Past Participant?

2016 Grand Champion

Austin Haywood, Hastings FFA, Hastings, Michigan, 1957 Farmall 350 Diesel

Austin Haywood - Tractor Restoration Competition 2016 champion

We'd love to hear from you. If you are an advisor, friend or family member of a past participant, is there someone you know who still proudly talks about his or her significant achievement and has applied skills learn through the competition? If so please let us know as we'd love to reconnect. Send an email with your story or phone number and we'll call you for details.

You Can Do It!

2017 Delo TRC

Line up your tractor and mark your calendar for these dates:

  • Competition deadline: August 21, 2017
  • Pre-judges receive entry workbooks and score sheets: August 23, 2017
  • Competition deadline — all workbooks, videos, photos due: August 25, 2017
  • Finalists determined by pre-judging; revise and update all print materials; video voting begins: September 5, 2017
  • Finalists notified on Facebook: September 11, 2017
  • Video vote ends: October 20, 2017
  • Teams 1-8 present: October 25, 2017
  • Teams 9-12 present; awards presentation: October 26, 2017

2016 Winners

Individual Winners, FFA Chapter, Location and Restoration Project:

  • Champion: Austin Haywood, Hastings FFA, Hastings, Michigan, 1957 Farmall 350 Diesel
  • Reserve Champion: Drake Davis, Southmont FFA, Crawfordsville Indiana, 1977 International 1086
  • Third Place: Carson Rose, El Campo FFA, El Campo, Texas, 1955 John Deere 50

Online Video Vote:

  • Winner: Ryder Merta, El Campo FFA, Winner of Kindle Fire®
  • Runner Up: Western Boone FFA, $100 gift card per team member

Best Photograph:

  • Carson Rose, El Campo FFA, Winner of framed print

Best Presentation:

  • Austin Haywood, Recognition wall print